2018 National NAIDOC Awards Ceremony

The National NAIDOC Awards were held on the 14th of July 2018 at the International Convention Centre.

The awards are held to showcase the contributions that have been made by Aboriginal people and organisations to improve the lives of Indigenous people over the last year. These improvements can be from within their community.

The ceremony is also held to show the excellence that participants have reached in their field of choice.

KARI Foundation recognises the importance of showcasing Indigenous excellence by sponsoring the awards.

National NAIDOC awards

KARI CEO Casey Ralph was invited to the National NAIDOC Awards to present the Youth of the Year Award. The winner of the Youth of the Year award was Tamina Pitt.

National NAIDOC awards

KARI would like to congratulate all candidates for being nominated. The number of applications submitted each year highlights the amazing work done by Indigenous people. They are working hard to make our country a better place.

A special mention to the following 2018 NAIDOC winners:
  • Person of the Year: Dr June Oscar AO in recognition of her work championing the rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Patricia Anderson AO in recognition of her passionate social justice work. Patricia works hard to improve the health and welfare as well as education of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
  • Apprentice of the Year: Folau Talbot, who is a qualified dental technician from Boggabilla NSW. Talbot provides dental services for people living in rural and remote Indigenous communities.
  • Artist of the Year: Adam Briggs or ‘Briggs’ in recognition of his pioneering work within the Australian hip hop scene.
  • Male Elder of the Year: Russell Charles Taylor AM in recognition of his significant service to community as a cultural leader and public-sector executive in the field of Indigenous affairs.
  • Female Elder of the Year: Aunty Lynette Nixon in recognition of her exceptional work and advocacy. Lynette has lobbied for over five decades for the rights and betterment of the lives of the Gunggari people.
  • Scholar of the Year: Professor Michelle Trudgett in recognition of her work in Indigenous participation in higher education. There’s a specific focus on the post graduate sector and above all, has developed strategies to assist tertiary students to receive culturally appropriate support.
  • Sportsperson of the Year: Jack Peris in recognition of his athletic achievements. He has recently become the National under-16 Australian 400m champion in athletics.
  • Caring for Country Award winner: The Mungalla Aboriginal Business corporation. They won for their community work. This work incorporates culture and eco-tourism within the area. Education and training are also provided for their local community.