Dreamtime Awards

The National Dreamtime Awards returned for another year on Saturday 16th November 2019 at the Star Event Centre in Sydney. The Dreamtime Awards are an opportunity for First Nations people to come together, celebrate and recognise excellence in the categories of Sport, Arts, Education, Health and Community.

The night acknowledges excellence across 17 categories, with 3 major awards including:

  • Dreamtime Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Dreamtime Elder of the Year
  • Dreamtime Person of the Year

The winners of each category were:

Student of the Year: Matthew Watts
Educator of the Year: Amanda Toomey
Institute of the Year: Institute of Koorie Education, Deakin University
Organisation of the Year: The Purple House
Business of the Year: Walkabout Barber
KARI Community Person of the Year: Thomas Cameron
Sports Talent of the Year: Brent Naden
Female Sportsperson of the Year: Ashleigh Barty
Male Sportsperson of the Year: Jack Wighton
Female Actor of the Year: Rarriwuy Hick
Male Actor of the Year: Rob Collins
Media Person of the Year: Brooke Boney
Male Artist of the Year: Electric Fields
Female Artists of the Year: Jessica Mauboy
Lifetime Achievement Award: Nova Peris OA
Elder of the Year: Uncle Ralph Naden
Person of the Year: Ashleigh Barty

KARI Foundation are proud to sponsor the Community Person of the year award as it is important to recognise inspiring individuals who put a lot of tireless effort and hard work into giving back to their communities. Congratulations to Thomas Cameron the recipient for 2019.

KARI Foundation would also like to extend our congratulations to one of our carer’s, Vicki Bowen; nominated in the Educator of the Year category for her commitment to providing the best education possible for Indigenous youth in South West Sydney Public Education schools. An amazing achievement!

Congratulations to all award winners.

To view images from the night, click here.